The Target Audience

question

With a title like, “Tales For Your Monkey’s Mind,” and being listed in the “Children’s Section” of online bookstores, you would assume that my new book was written for children. It was, but it was also written for adults. Each story in “Tales For Your Monkey’s Mind” looks at the side effects of our social structure, how they affect children, and continue to affect them as they grow into adults. I thought long and hard about the writing style I wanted to create for the book. I wanted something that would not only connect with a child, but also with the inner child of an adult. Some say the style I created is Seuss like, or similar to Roald Dahl and Shel Silverstin.

“But, who is your target audience?” they would ask me.

“Everyone,” I would answer. “It’s like a children’s book for adults.”

“What? But, you have to have a target audience,” was usually their reply.

I realize this, but there are books written for a specific “target audience,” and then there are books written to create their own audience. I knew I was taking a chance by writing a book that would appeal to all ages, but the positive reviews that “Tales For Your Monkey’s Mind” is receiving has made the chance worth taking.

This very creative book is a collection of short stories that children will enjoy, yet each story has a deeper message for adults.”

“I’m reading this to my children, ages 1-8 & encouraging my teens to read it themselves.”

“… the book was for adults as well as children.”

“I’m 25 and I absolutely loved it.”

“I know it may be meant for children, but I found it very interesting and was thoroughly entertained!”

“This is an excellent book for young children, young adults, and basically anyone.”

So, who is the target audience for “Tales For Your Monkey’s Mind?”

Everyone!

Leave a Reply

