TFYMM cover.jpg
Tales For Your Monkey’s Mind
is a collection of six illustrated short stories written in the vein of Shel Silverstein, Roald Dahl, and Dr. Seuss. Each story looks at the side effects of our social structure and how it affects children and adults. As a child, author Steve Michael Reedy was inspired by the children’s cartoons, movies, and books of the late 1960s and early 1970s, many of which had philosophical undertones. Later, after working as a counselor with children and adults, he decided to write a book about what he learned using a children’s fable format. He did this for two reasons. First, he believed that the information would be more interesting if written with witches, toy factories, magical storybooks, and rhyme. Second, it would be more fun to write.

The themes in Tales For Your Monkey’s Mind are multilayered, universal, and reflect the timeless issues that are always with us no matter what generation we may find ourselves in. Reedy wrote it as a means to create open conversations between adults and children. Talk Nerdy With Us says, “The charm in this book is that these life lessons are fleshed out in a manner that children will understand and adults will applaud.” A review from Clarion Reviews says it, “could prove to be one of those rare juvenile fiction books that survives adolescence to one day be read fondly by (or to) another generation.”

In the book, Alex daydreams of working in the Wallerwood Toy Factory, and he sets off to learn the secrets kept hidden behind the factory’s front doors. Jessica wants to become the best clown that Clown Town has ever seen. Then she learns that being a clown is not as much fun as she thought. Angela worries about what will happen to her when she dies, until she discovers there are others things to think about instead. Andrew wants a magical storybook of his very own, but then he hears a story that may change his mind. Josh and Kalyn accidentally break a witch’s spell that was cast over the children of their town, and they set off on a journey to make things right. Little Fey searches for something to make her happy one-day, but she realizes that her search is pushing her happiness further away.

In it’s first year of printing, Tales For Your Monkey’s Mind has won several book awards including the 2016 “Purple Dragonfly Award,” the 2016 “Moonbeam Children’s Book Award,” the 2015 “Book & Author” book of the year award, and an international book award for children’s fables from “Reader’s Favorite.”

For More Information  visit: www.monkeymindtales.com.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s